breaking news

Cool Mining Pool images

September 30th, 2016 | by BTC News
Cool Mining Pool images

Check out these mining pool images:

It’s all in the details – 2014 Pasadena Showcase House of Design
mining pool
Image by Karol Franks
Original powder room floor

Karol Franks
2014 Pasadena Showcase House of Design

This year, Showcase House celebrates its 50th anniversary with a distinguished 1915 English Arts & Crafts style home, designed by noted architect Stiles O. Clements, who served on the Los Angeles County Regional Planning Commission and originated the Los Angeles trees-in-the-street program. Clements was the architect for the Adamson House in Malibu, Wiltern Theater in mid-Wilshire Los Angeles, El Capitan Theatre in Hollywood, Mayan Theater in downtown Los Angeles, and the Beverly Hills High School swim-gym, featured in the film It’s a Wonderful Life. He also assisted Julia H. Morgan on the design of William Randolph Hearst’s San Simeon.

This year’s Showcase House, known as the Flint House, was originally built for Robert Philip Flint and his wife Margaret Gray Flint. Mr. Flint graduated from Yale University and was a prominent mining engineer, and brother to Frank P. Flint who developed Flintridge which is part of La Canada, CA. Another notable owner was Philip Chandler, the son of Harry Chandler, publisher of the Los Angeles Times. In 1915, the 8,200 square-foot house featured 17 rooms and was built at a cost of ,000. Today, the house features seven bedrooms, including a nursery, a nanny’s room and a traveler’s suite, ten baths, five fireplaces, a media room, oak floors, redwood wall paneling, and floor to ceiling leaded glass windows. The 3.5 acre wooded grounds feature 300 trees, a lily pond, river-rock artesian spring house, a variety of lovely gardens, a pool and dressing rooms with fire pit, a greenhouse, a gardener’s potting shed and an outdoor kitchen. In addition, there is a chauffeur’s suite complete with sitting area and kitchenette located above the carriage house.


Francisco Lopez and his onions
mining pool
Image by simonov
A wall mural near the Oak of the Golden Dream.

From Wikipedia:

On March 9, 1842, Francisco Lopez, the uncle of Antonio’s second wife Jacoba Feliz, took a rest under an oak tree in Placerita Canyon and had a dream that he was floating on a pool of gold. When he awoke, he pulled a few wild onions from the ground only to find flakes of gold clinging to the roots. However, he was not just lucky. Lopez had studied mineralogy at the University of Mexico and it was likely he had been systematically looking for gold. Moreover, evidence suggests that gold had previously been found in the area as many as thirty years prior, but Lopez’s discovery was the first documented discovery of gold in the state. This sparked a gold rush on a much smaller scale than the more famous California Gold Rush several years later. About 2,000 people, mostly from the Mexican state of Sonora, came to Rancho San Francisco to mine the gold.

This discovery was mostly ignored by the American public. For one thing, California was not yet a U.S. state, so this was in essence a Mexican discovery. However, certain people who later played a large role in the other gold rush took note. John Sutter, who had sided with Gov. Manuel Micheltorena during his power struggle with former Gov. Alvarado, was imprisoned after the Battle of Providencia near Mission San Fernando after the insurrection had succeeded. After his release, he headed north through Placerita Canyon, and seeing the mining operation, determined to search for gold near his home, Sutter’s Fort.

During the Mexican–American War, Del Valle destroyed the mine to prevent the Americans from gaining access to it. The tree where Lopez took his nap is now known as the "Oak of the Golden Dream" and is registered as California Historic Landmark #168.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *